Minutes of EEMS Council meeting, Lancaster 6 July 2014, 14.10-15.20 h

Present: Margeritha Bignami (Italy), Marlies de Boeck (Belgium), Elisabeth Lorge (France), Anthony Lynch (EEMS Treasurer, will leave the ExCom after the Lancaster meeting), Frank Martin (UK, local organization), Leon Mullenders (EEMS president), Madeleine Nivard (EEMS secretary), Veronique Thybaud (EEMS VP, will leave the EXCOM after the Lancaster meeting)

1. Welcome and introduction of participants

On initiative of Mullenders everyone gives a short introduction of him/herself

2. Minutes of previous council meeting (Brazil 2013)

Mullenders gives a short summary of the different points. There are no comments.

3. New EEMS constitution / status

This point will be discussed at a separate meeting after the Council meeting

4. Vice-president

Veronique Thybaud will step down after the Lancaster meeting. Her successor will be either Jan Topinka, who is available, or Simon Reed, who is very interesting but would like to get some more information. Mullenders will talk with him once more.

The EXCOM will send an email to the presidents and councillors to explain the situation and set out the information for voting. Voting will be by email.

5. EEMS change of name

There was not enough time in Brazil to end the discussion about the name of the EEMS. The US has changed their name and Leon Mullenders explains their motivation. Their new name is International Association of Environmental Mutagenesis and Genomics Societies. There are no much alternatives to think of. It is clear that independent what the EEMS will do, the UK, France, and also the Netherlands will not change the name of their national society. To be continued.

6. EEMS website

The website is not very attractive. Suggestions to improve it:

- make links to the websites of the local societies
- add essential information on the website
- add minutes of the GA meeting on the website

7. Frits Sobels award

There were two niminations Eugenia Dogliotti and Hansruedi Glatt. At the end the award committee selected Glatt but they were quite close. In the future the president of the EEMS will send to the presidents and or councillors of the different societies an email inviting them to nominate candidates for the FS award and also for the YS award. Only nominations by the national societies will be taken. The consequence might be that there will be years without any nomination.

Margeritha Bignami has a question about the award committee: when are the members allowed to vote? If one has a good collaboration with the candidate or knows him/her very well the voting might be not objective anymore. The question is if we have to make exclusions. The society in Norway has made a list with rules when a person is not allowed to vote. That committee is very transparent, which we also have to be within the EEMS.

8. Young Scientist award

The award committee for the YS award and Frits Sobels award consisted of the same 5 persons: Bignami, Helleday, Phillips, Suralles and Thybaud.

There were 4 candidates, but none of them had high quality. Two were clearly not good enough and the other two were acceptable and more or less of equal quality. Finally George E. Johnson is the winner.

For the YS award we have to consider that

- there are differences in personality
- the input of young scientist is very important for the EEMS
- we must not expect too much from young scientists
- we have to judge the research in the context of the society

For the future it might be useful to set up criteria for the awards selection.

9. ICEM Young Scientists session / Travel Grants

The travel grants should be given to people who had sent in an application. But, there was not any application received although 6 persons had indicated their interest in this grant but didn't send anything accordingly. Five of them are in Lancaster at the meeting. This year the rules for travel grant application were changed and that was probably confusing. In the past the young scientists were granted by the national societies. Some national societies grant their own young scientists for instance to present a poster. The local organizers will give grants on basis of abstracts.

Two of the four young scientists who will present at the YS session will receive a travel grant. In total 5 young scientists will receive a travel grant: two from the Netherlands, two from Russia and one form Germany.

For the coming year national societies have to come up with candidates for the YS session and based on the abstracts people will be selected for a presentation.

The rules for YS session and travel grants must be clearly written on the EEMS website for next year and communicated with the national societies.

10. Treasurer's report

Anthony Lynch shares the financial data; there are no urgent things to discuss. The financial outcome of the Lancaster meeting is not known yet. There might be a small profit, but the meeting fee for the participants was kept cheap. In case of a small loss the UK-EMS will cover.

11. 2014 EEMS meeting in Lancaster

The three representatives of the different National Societies, Bignami, de Boeck, and Lorge, were asked to organize the Poster Awards. They agreed and decided, in view of time, to do the award ceremony on Wednesday during the BBQ. Jenny Brews has been asked to make an award certificate. Again, there are no clear criteria except that the winners are generally PhD students and preferably persons who have not t received young travel awards. Furthermore only the posters are included and not the talks. Price is around 100 euro.

12. Other business

No remarks.