Minutes Council Meeting EEMS

(at ICEM, Sunday 3-11-2013)

- 1. Andreas Rothfuss (Secretary) could not attend the ICEM meeting. Welcome and introduction of the participants (see list attached).
 - No proposal for additional agenda points
- 2. Minutes are approved, no further comments; signed by the president and sent to the Secretary.
- 3. Change of name of EEMS: explained by Vice-President; he proposed to organize a discussion on the name at the EEMS 2014 meeting in Lancaster.
- 4. Description of the Award Committee, the winners of the Fritz Sobels Award, Young Scientist Award, and Young Scientist Travel Award.
- 5. Treasurer's report:

Overview of expenses and income of the Society. Current balance went down because of the expensive 2013 ICEM meeting (expensive due to travel awards: €1500/winner) and the fact that no meeting was organized that could have led to a profit. Income of subscriptions 2013 was not completely realized; it is necessary to obtain all subscriptions before the end of 2013. Disappointing is the note that 'sustaining sponsors' no longer contribute to the Society's income.

Anthony Lynch will step down after the Lancaster meeting, his successor will be Roland Frötschl (Germany).

6. Lancaster EEMS meeting:

Scientific Committee: Leon Mullenders, Veronique Thybaud, Anthony Lynch on behalf of EEMS & local organiser (Frank Martin).

The EEMS 2013 will be held at the facilities of the University of Lancaster. Travel costs should be limited via Manchester Airport and train connection.

No 'non-EEMS student' rates are included.

The question has been raised why postdocs are not at a 'student level of payment'. The point is to make a clear separation between Ph.D. and postdocs; however, a bit of flexibility is required.

- 7. Request to add advertisement of and support the 'anti-mutagens and anti-food' conference in Vienna 2014 (organiser: S. Knasmüller).
- 8. New constitution: vote on EGA meeting; needed 50 members. Constitution committee will be installed to discuss/propose, among others, the subscription rate.

Francesca Pacchierotti opts for membership of committee; Roland Frötschl will be member as well. Sylvie Sauvaigo will also join; other members will be recruited by Councillors. Committee should be limited in members (no more than 6-7); at EGA more members might show interest to join the committee. David Kirkland is also proposed to be a member (in reserve).

List of attendees at Council Meeting EEMS

ICEM (Sunday 3rd November 2013)

<u>Name</u> <u>Society</u>

Lorge, Elisabeth SFTG

Sauvaigo, Sylvie SFTG

Lavik, Olga SFTG (corr: from Russia)

Frötschl, Roland GUM

Knasmüller, Siegfried GUM

Pacchierotti, Francesca SIMA (Italy)

Kirkland, David Past President (UK)

Norppa, Hannu NordEMS (Finland, proxy for Ari Hirvonen)